Abstract: The material in the collection includes items, photographs, and papers related to Dorothy Bercu Gross and her husband Norman Gross, her extended family, and her Vaudeville career in the 1920s and 1930s. Her father owned the Chicago Hide, Fur and Wool Company in Douglas, Wyoming and Denver, Colorado. The collection spans from the late 1800s to 2015 and illustrates an extended Jewish family and vaudeville performers.
Abstract: Congregaton Beth HaMedrosh Hagodol Congregation (BMH-the Great House of Study) was establsihed in 1892 in a group of rented rooms above co-founder Henry Plonsky's shoe and boot store on Larimer Street in Denver, Colorado. It officially incorporated in 1897 and grew to become Denver's largest modern Orthodox Jewish congregation. The congregation was first housed at 24th and Curtis Streets and then erected a new building at 16th and Gaylord. In 1969 BMH moved to its present location at 560 S. Monaco Pkwy. Rabbi Charles Eliezar Hillel Kauvar became the first rabbi of BMH in 1901 and served in that position for more than 50 years. In 1972, Stanley Wagner became Rabbi. He and Rabbi Kauvar created the Center for Judaic Studies. Oheb Zedek (Those Who Love Justice) left BMH in 1911, but merged back in the 1930s. Beth Joseph became part of BMH-BJ in 1996.
The collections includes ledgers, material culture, cash receipt books, and a BMH Women's League Minute Book.
Abstract: Most of Greeley's early Jews were Orthodox and services were held in private homes until 1925 when Beth Israel Congregation was formed in Greeley, Colorado and houses were rented for services. In 1952 Beth Israel had it's first synagogue when it purchased a former church in 1952 and incorporated in June 1953. Among the leaders of the Congregation were members of the Winograd family. Abe Winograd was Collection contains financial records, correspondence, administrative records, programs, newsclippings and newsletters from the Beth Israel Congregation.
Abstract: In 1918 the Moshev Zkenim (Organization of Elders) Home and Society was incorporated in Denver with Ed Grimes (who had been a Cotopaxi resident) as president. The cornerstone was laid on June 22, 1919. The facility opened in 1920 and the name was changed to the Beth Israel Hospital Home. A second three story building opened in 1946, the Beth Israel Home for the Aged. The old building was used for chonically ill and the new building provided hospital and geriatric care. In the 1970s the name was changed to Beth Hospital and Geriatric Center. In 1987 Beth Israel was sold to St. Anthony's to pay for a new facility at Shalom Park, which opened in 1992.Collection contains administrative records, photographs, scrapbooks, publications, clippings and minutes from the Beth Israel Hospital and Geriatric Center from 1917-1995.
Abstract: The Division of Athletics and Recreation is an administrative unit within the University of Denver (DU) that manages collegiate athletics and recreational activities for DU students. The bulk of the records in this collection have been generated by the Media Relations unit, which is an administrative unit within the University of Denver Division of Athletics and Recreation, and serves as the liaison between DU's coaches and student-athletes, and the national, regional, and local media. This collection contains records reflecting these activities. These records include: media guides, game programs, team rosters, press releases, photographs, and related promotional materials.