Abstract: Collection contains financial records, correspondence, administrative records, programs, newsclippings and newsletters from the Beth Israel Congregation.
Abstract: Collection contains correspondence, architectural and construction information, historical background materials, publicity, special events, photographs, financial and legal documents, model of synagogue, and audio visual materials.
Abstract: Oheb Zadek congregation was founded by a group which broke away from the Beth HaMedrosh Hagadol Congregation (BMH)in 1910. During 1920's it had become the second largest congregation in Denver. The congregation met in various local halls until 1919, when it built a brick structure at 22nd and Marion. The cornerstone is from the "Marion Street Shul." By the 1940s the splinter congregation had returned to BMH and building was sold because of financial problems.
Creator: Goodstein, Phil H.
Abstract: Phil H. Goodstein (1952- ) is a freelance historian who has written articles and books about Colorado and its history including Exploring Jewish Colorado published in 1992. The book covers Jewish history, people and organizations in Colorado. The papers relate to the writing of the book, Exploring Jewish Colorado, and include correspondence, questionnaires, pamphlets, newspaper clippings, manuscript drafts, galley proofs, photocopies of photographs and illustrations from the book, and a computer disk. Newspaper clippings cover Jewish synagogues in Colorado, as well as the Guldman, Friedman and Londoner families. __ __Phil H. Goodstein Papers
Abstract: On July 23, 1883, twenty-nine Jews of Trinidad, Colorado met in the home of Sol Jaffe to organize a synagogue. They adopted the name of Congregation Aaron in honor of the Jaffe brothers’ (Sol, Henry, and Samuel) father. Samuel Jaffe, who became Trinidad’s first mayor, was chosen vice-president. In 1889, Rabbi Leopold Freudenthal, became the congregation’s second rabbi and served until his death in 1916. He gradually introduced moderate Reform Judaism. In addition to Jews from Trinidad, many of the members came from Raton, New Mexico and small towns in Colorado and New Mexico. In 1889, Temple Aaron was built at Third and Maple streets, where it still stands. Architect Isaac Hamilton Rapp designed it in a Moorish Revival style. Economic conditions in Trinidad deteriorated and most of the Jewish families left Trinidad, but the temple still holds High Holiday Services. Temple Aaron is the oldest temple in Colorado has remained at the same location as originally built. The collection includes the constitution and by-laws of the congregation, documents from the centennial celebration, and newspaper articles on the temple.