Abstract: Louis Anfenger was typical of the young Jewish men who migrated to the Colorado Territory in the state's formative years. Born in Bavaria, Anfenger came to the United States in the 1850s and moved to Denver in 1870 to seek his fortune. He became a highly successful businessman in the area of real estate as well as a member of the Denver Chamber of Commerce and was later elected to the state legislature in the 1880s. He was a founder of Congregation Emanuel, Denver B'nai B'rith, and National Jewish Hospital. He married Louise Schlesinger Anfenger, and the couple became the parents of eight children, who later also became leaders in the Denver community. His eldest son Milton became a lawyer and a Colorado State Senator in 1904, and his daughter Flora married prominent Denver attorney Philip Hornbein.
The collection includes Louis Anfenger's diary and clothing, needlework, household accessories, furniture, and memorabilia belonging to various members of the extended Anfenger family.
Abstract: Collection contains Allied Jewish Federation newsclippings, Temple Emanuel clippings, Rocky Mountain Region clippings, and copies of the Rocky Mountain Empire Magazine from 1940-1990.
Abstract: Congregaton Beth HaMedrosh Hagodol Congregation (BMH-the Great House of Study) was establsihed in 1892 in a group of rented rooms above co-founder Henry Plonsky's shoe and boot store on Larimer Street in Denver, Colorado. It officially incorporated in 1897 and grew to become Denver's largest modern Orthodox Jewish congregation. The congregation was first housed at 24th and Curtis Streets and then erected a new building at 16th and Gaylord. In 1969 BMH moved to its present location at 560 S. Monaco Pkwy. Rabbi Charles Eliezar Hillel Kauvar became the first rabbi of BMH in 1901 and served in that position for more than 50 years. In 1972, Stanley Wagner became Rabbi. He and Rabbi Kauvar created the Center for Judaic Studies. Oheb Zedek (Those Who Love Justice) left BMH in 1911, but merged back in the 1930s. Beth Joseph became part of BMH-BJ in 1996.
The collections includes ledgers, material culture, cash receipt books, and a BMH Women's League Minute Book.
Abstract: The Judd Family papers trace the involvement of the Judd family in the construction industry which began with Abraham Judelowitz who arrived in Denver in the 1880s and was instrumental in the building of the first Beth haMedrosh (BMH) Synagogue. His son, Samuel Judd was born in Denver in 1892 and began as an architect and engineer at the Bureau of Reclamation in 1918. He selected sites and designed many large dams, including Hoover dam. He was the city planner for Boulder City, Nevada and Page, Arizona. Samuel Judd was head of Architectural and Structural Design Section of the United States Bureau of Reclamation from 1935 until retiring in 1962 and was Denver's Building Inspector in 1963. Samuel Judd directed the design and construction of the first Hebrew Educational Alliance Building and the Gaylord Street BMH building. The Judd Construction Company founded in 1949 by E. James Judd and the collection primarily centers on the Judd Construction Company job files on major building projects in Denver from 1950 through 1991. Judd was also a founder and past president of Historic Denver, Inc.
The papers of the Judd Family and the Judd Corporation concentrate on the construction industry in Denver, Colorado, but also have information on various organizations and on generations of a Jewish family. The papers include legal documents, construction and business documents, correspondence, diaries, newspaper clippings, photographs, an audiotape, appointment books, and scrapbooks.
Creator: TRI-Sulom (Denver, Colo.)
Abstract: The Talmudic Research Institute (TRI-Sulom Congregation) was an orthodox Chasidic synagogue and study center organized by Rabbi B. C. Shloime Twerski in 1970. He was succeeded in 1981 by his son Rabbi Mordecai D. Twerski. Rabbi Mordecai Twerski led the TRI-Sulom until returning to New York in 2000. The records consist of three annual fundraising dinner journals.